Go to main content

Parliamentary Groups

At the practical level MPs work together in parliamentary groups formed according to political party. The parliamentary groups have a say in the composition of different parliamentary bodies, the organisation of legislative work, participation in the Government and the election of ministers. Each parliamentary group has its own office in the Parliament House and funds are appropriated in the state budget for this purpose. The parliamentary groups elect their own leaders and each group has its own staff. Parliamentary groups generally meet on Thursdays.

Seats in the Parliament 2011-2015

National Coalition Party Parliamentary Group 44
The Social Democratic Parliamentary Group 42
The Finns Party Parliamentary Group 37
Centre Party Parliamentary Group 36
Left Alliance Parliamentary Group 12
Green Parliamentary Group 10
Swedish Parliamentary Group 10
Christian Democratic Parliamentary Group 6
Left Faction Parliamentary Group 2
Parliamentary group Change 2011  1
Parliamentary services
Useful links